top of page
This outhouse may well be the oldest surviving outhouse in the province. Originally located behind David Willsons house and built for him by Ebenezer Doan, it was moved to this Site during the 1950’s. The unique shape is not without reason. Willson proclaimed that the devil hid in corners and he didn’t want to be caught in the corner by the devil with his pants down. To some, he also mentioned that he didn’t want to cut corners.
While the round shape was virtually unheard of, having a two-seater outhouse was not. David Willson had five children and numerous grandchildren, so the two seats made perfect sense. The two holes were different sizes to stop the smaller children from falling in.
bottom of page